This week's assignment for my Cousera class on Sci Fi and Fantasy Literature was Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll. I think I need to find an elementary school aged kid to read them one. 

Both are packed full of puns and other wordplay that made me smile and chuckle from time to time. But the books are children's literature. Thinking about kids laughing manically at the same knock knock jokes over and over again (Orange you going to move on to a new joke?) , the worldplay might get more hysterics and less smirking from the intended audience.

I am starting to feel like a broken record for the books I've read lately, but both books are lacking in plot. Each is a series of adventures that Alice experiences, but her time in wonderland doesn't have an overarching story, no connection from one interaction to the next. I want plot! I want a moral quandary to solve! Alice didn't give me one.

Long Story Short: Read it with your kids - its both funny and education, and tolerably entertaining for adults.



Leave a Reply.